Marla + Marlon

by marlescharles

We row out in the boat.
You say, ‘this is the deepest we’ll ever get.’
Kiss me on the forehead,
and we’re back in the bed.
You say, ‘I love how selfish you are.’
I kiss you on the tip of your nose,
you say, ‘I love it when you do that.’
And I tell you that I’m aware.
I tell you I’m aware.
There’s nothing I wouldn’t do for you.
Whatever you ask of me I will see it through.

You take my hand and we’re in the garden.
I’m wearing your coat because the days are getting short.
You say, ‘I love how you’re the coldest person
that I have ever known,’
and crack a joke about how I’ll be once we’ve grown old.
You lay me down on the ground,
lay down on top of me. I say,
‘I don’t let people in ’cause I’m afraid to lose,’
and you ask me, ‘what about me?’
I say, ‘I’ll probably never know,
but I do love your smile, and
I love the way you don’t use it much.’
You laugh and roll down to my right,
say, ‘there’s nothing I wouldn’t do for you.
Whatever you ask of me I promise I will see it through.’

It begins to rain and we both get up.
We stand there getting soaking wet,
the water clinging to our clothes.
I jump up, break through the surface to the other side.
You’re right behind,
and we climb into the boat on the lake and scream our love at the sky.
You shout, ‘she’s the proudest person that I have ever known,’
and I shout back that I am grateful for everything you’ve ever shown me.
There’s nothing I wouldn’t do for you.
Whatever you ask of me I promise I will see it through.

I jump into the bed and you follow.
I say, ‘I claim you as mine,’ and you laugh.
I say, ‘I can’t live without you, I can’t.’
If nothing else I am certain about that.

